Republic of Moldova signed up to Horizon 2020

H2020 Accession Moldova   H2020 Accession Moldova 2

On July 1, 2014 the Republic of Moldova signed, along with five Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia), the European Association Agreement to Research and Innovation Programme Horizon 2020.

European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn said: "The agreements signed today are good for these countries and good for the European Union. Increased cooperation in research and innovation will create new opportunities for growth, competitiveness and jobs in all our economies. Association to Horizon 2020 will facilitate the mobility of excellent scientists, strengthen national research systems, and help the countries integrate into the European Research Area".

Thus, following the signing of the Association Agreement with the European Union, Horizon 2020 becomes the first Community Programme to which our country is associated, and Moldova holds the status of the first associated country in the Eastern Partnership.

The Association Agreement allows individuals and legal entities from our country to get similar rights as EU Member States, within the Horizon 2020 calls ( and Moldova's representatives can now participate in the decisive and management procedures of the Horizon 2020 Programme.

On behalf of R. Moldova, the European Association Agreement to Research and Innovation Programme Horizon 2020 was signed by Acad. Gheorghe DUCA, President of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova.


Signing ceremony can be viewed here:

For more details visit: